When your Favorite Book becomes a Meet & Greet

Happy Holidays!

People often ask, what is your favorite book?  Without a beat, many stories come to mind. From classics to more current books. But which would I say is at the top of my list?

Drum roll….

Hands down, The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks is my all time, can’t-put-it-down book.  Have you read it? I won’t spoil it for you, but it’s a beautifully written story about a couple’s love for each other and the obstacles they face —a classic girl meets boy from the other side of the tracks.

thenotebook_nicholassparks

What was it about this book for me? It was a captivating, plain and simple. Regular people find themselves in an extraordinary relationship. Allie and Noah fought for each other through tears and a whole lot of spark! Could they make their relationship work? I’ll let you read their journey to find out. Maybe it will move to the top of your holiday list!

The moment you get to tell the Author their book is your Favorite!

nicholassparks_signing

Recently, Nicholas Sparks visited Union Square Barnes and Noble in NYC to sign his newest book Two by Two. I had to go! I planned for two weeks about what I could say to the author of my favorite story. Do I tell him how much The Notebook meant to me? Or that I cried when Allie said goodbye to Noah? Or that I felt the same love for my husband as he described for Noah and Allie?

Or that I had re-read it more than a half dozen times?

I was determined not to gush and spew mindless thoughts. ACK!  But when it came to my turn, I fumbled with the words, and can’t say verbatim what actually came out, but it went something like…

“The Notebook is my favorite book of all time and your writing inspires me.”

I think!

So there you have it—my favorite book! How about yours? What is your favorite story?

Leave a Reply

